Gravit Designer discussion

Is there a knack to transform > move/copy with a single path object?

I often need to create multiple vertical lines 2 cm apart.
I start with an original single path and then transform >move > X=2 > copies = 4 ( for example).
Sometimes it works and I get 4 new vertical lines. Often, and apparently randomly, the copies are made but are not moved - they are piled up on top of the original.
Has anyone had this problem? I’ve tried having the path as a closed or open object, with and without fill.

Exactly the same here.
I’d go now another route for instance by duplicating as much as needed and use a rectangle as a helper object:

1 Like

Ah, good workaround Ellen. Annoying though - I’m a quilt artist so it’s something I use a LOT! @scofano is this a bug that’s been reported already?

Another easier way is kind of power-duplicate and goes as follows:

1. Draw your first path - hit enter to finish.
  2. change to Select tool (hit “V”) - duplicate via cmd+D
  3. add at Position x +20 (mm) to the existent value - hit enter
  4. now hit short cut for duplicate again for as many doubles you need.

Nope, never seen it.

If you drag your line holding alt (and shift) and release it on 2cm (you would need a guide), then pressing ctrl+d should give you multiple lines with the same spacing.

Shared with CloudApp

David,
how did you manage to place a ruler at a certain point. Here it’s just trial&error.

I zoomed the canvas.

Shared with CloudApp

Ps: It is Daniel. :rofl:

1 Like

Daniel (of course - sorry),
Cool trick. Thank you.

1 Like

Unfortunately this is not really a solution - setting a guide and then zooming in and out and calculating (unless the first line happens to be at 0 as in Daniel’s screencap) is really cumbersome. I just need to be able to instantly create , say, 4 copies of a line, assess the look, and then repeat that until I have enough lines.
I think if it’s happening for both Ellen and I, @Scofano, it’s a bug?