Gravit Designer discussion

Testing Out Gravit Designer - Pen Tool & Paths

Hello folks.

I decided to give Gravit a try since I don’t want to limit myself with just one software. I’m a longtime Illustrator user so i’m very familiar with that software and can draw a good comparison. I thought I would try recreating my own personal branding and logo in Gravit as a good way of testing out its features.

So first thing’s first. I started with the Pen Tool. And right away I can really appreciate the built-in guides that automatically show when moving or aligning paths. Oh, I also forgot, i’m a proficient AutoCAD user as well. I don’t know how many people here know CAD. But the tracking feature in AutoCAD is essentially a very, VERY comprehensive and powerful version of vector software’s automated guidelines that show on-screen when drawing or aligning. I actually jumped the gun there previously and forgot to mention I first pasted my logo in its plain state from Illustrator. It ends up being a raster image instead of reading in as a vector path/shape, which I wasn’t expecting. So I simply used that image as a reference to draw on top of. I had a hard time finding a Lock option to lock the image after changing its transparency. So I ended up simply drawing and looking at the image of my logo. Converting the image to vector also worked. For the most part. Some lines ended up being wonky and crooked. I tried editing paths but wasn’t sure how.

So here is the first snag I hit.